AnthonyCea
12-08-2005, 12:05 PM
Buffaloed one of our most knowledgeable members here mentioned these two organizations in one of his posts.
Can you all tell us what you know about these sites, which one is the official vB site and what the other does and a bit of the history about their relation to one another :confused:
gprime
12-08-2005, 12:26 PM
Buffaloed one of our most knowledgeable members here mentioned these two organizations in one of his posts.
Can you all tell us what you know about these sites, which one is the official vB site and what the other does and a bit of the history about their relation to one another :confused:
vbulletin.com is the official site where you can get professional support, download upgrades, report bugs, and so forth. vbulletin.org is a site for vbulletin owners to download hacks and skins for their forum. Though funded by Jelsoft (owners of vBulletin), most of their higher level staff is not directly employed by Jelsoft. Hacks from .org are not officially supported by Jelsoft (in otherwords .com), but since there was a demand for a large vB hacking community, .org exists.
AnthonyCea
12-08-2005, 01:03 PM
So the .org is not an official site at all or supported by the software developer in any way other than paying for the hosting of the .org :confused:
noppid
12-08-2005, 01:06 PM
Nixon pays for .org. Dick Cheny manages the endowment.
AnthonyCea
12-08-2005, 01:24 PM
Yeah I think these guys are behind these sites too!
smacklan
12-08-2005, 01:26 PM
hmmm...interesting...didn't one of those drink himself to death 20 some odd years ago? :p
AnthonyCea
12-08-2005, 01:35 PM
Yeah but Noppid told me this guys family took over for him!
gprime
12-08-2005, 03:50 PM
So the .org is not an official site at all or supported by the software developer in any way other than paying for the hosting of the .org :confused:
Correct. Though you will notice that many Jelsoft staff have accounts there, and a few even release hacks.
ChrisLM2001
12-08-2005, 04:05 PM
Buffaloed one of our most knowledgeable members here mentioned these two organizations in one of his posts.
Can you all tell us what you know about these sites, which one is the official vB site and what the other does and a bit of the history about their relation to one another :confused:
Do you own a vB license??
vB.org is quasi official. Although they don't officially support mods (i.e., give technical support to make them work), they do support mods being built and tie vB license access to vB.org.
Chris
AnthonyCea
12-08-2005, 05:11 PM
Not yet Chris!
When I do are you going to help me set the forum up:confused:
ChrisLM2001
12-08-2005, 05:23 PM
Depends on IF I get my computer parts in and any workload.
Opened up PSP to make a little screen capture at vB, and sure enough PAGE_FAULT, again. This is crap, I WANT MY HARDWARE NOW!!!!!!
Chris
AnthonyCea
12-08-2005, 05:57 PM
Get a MAC G-5 and get away from PC, I am!:)
ChrisLM2001
12-08-2005, 06:21 PM
That would be anarchy in this family. ;) Going AMD I would be heretic.
Nope, going to stick with PCs (as I have since '83).
Chris